In the summer of 1969, John Dawson was looking to showcase his songs while Jerry Garcia was looking to practice his brand new pedal steel guitar. The two played in coffeehouses and small clubs initially, and the music they made became the nucleus for a band—the New Riders of the Purple Sage (aka NRPS).

In 2006 the New Riders of the Purple Sage went back on the road with a revived and inspired lineup, bringing the songs of John Dawson back to the ears of adoring crowds nationwide as well as taking those songs to places they’ve never been before musically. Led by David Nelson and Buddy Cage, the current touring lineup includes Michael Falzarano (Hot Tuna) on guitar and vocals, Ronnie Penque on bass and vocals and Johnny Markowski (Stir Fried) on drums and vocals.

John Dawson passed away on July 21, 2009, but before his passing he had given the guys his blessing and was excited to know his music is being heard live again by a new generation of fans. Keeping the NRPS spirit and flame alive, the band released it’s first studio album in twenty years in 2009 titled Where I Come From. Featuring a slew of new songs written by David Nelson and Robert Hunter among other band originals, the New Riders’ renaissance continues to grow, both on record and at their live shows, where they are continually breaking out new songs on every tour while staying true to the legacy that was started over 40 years ago by John Dawson and Jerry Garcia.

NRPS website